anemone dropping tips?

Discussion in 'Inverts' started by elbeesea, Jan 21, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. elbeesea

elbeesea Astrea Snail

Hi all - a newbie here... my pink tip haitian anemone began "squeezing" off it's tips this morning. Very strange to watch! It has been a very happy camper since adding to the tank 4 months ago. Four days ago I introduced a toadstool and maze coral, and a maroon clown who immediately bonded. I did rearrange things, so I know that was disruptive as well, but the anemone seems to like it's new spot and looked great until this morning, when it began dropping tips. Tonight it's back to it's plump self, but I've noticed that some of the tips laying around are actually alive! So, I've gathered a few and they are in a net at the top of the tank awaiting your input... I've searched the net but have found no info on this type of event... what say you? thanks...

2. Click Here!

3. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

:speechles Hello and welcome to 3reef!
    I have never heard of anything like that. I know that another anemone won't grow as a result of this.
    Anemones reproduce either sexually, by pedal laceration or longitudinal fission.

1 person likes this.
  4. fletch

fletch Kole Tang

:confused: Neither have I :confused:

5. elbeesea

elbeesea Astrea Snail

what shall I do?

so, what do you think I should do with these little clones? they already do "anemone" things like shrivel when touched, turn grey, then replump and stick to things. two of three are now clinging to the side of the net. I'm concerned that being on the top of the tank may be too warm for them (close to the light).

There are still a few tips preparing to "take off" from the mama anemone. it's as if its creating a tourniquet to force the tip off. It even tries to "bump" off the tip, and I observed an occasional "undulating" which looked like it was trying to "barf" off the tip. Bizarre!