ad-button

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2010, 04:25 AM
Feather Duster

Skin: Mint
stauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond reputestauchistory has a reputation beyond repute

gallery
Default Proper way to feed frozen fish food?

I'm new to SW aquariums and frozen fish food, so please bear with me.

I currently feed my fish flake food, frozen brine shrimp, frozen Marine Cuisine (made by San Fransisco Bay Brand), and frozen Krill. I am curious about the proper procedure to use when feeding frozen foods to SW livestock. The problems I see with feeding the food frozen are:
  1. Fish can swallow food still frozen, thus causing them injury mouth or internally (cuts or scratches).
  2. Fish can swallow food frozen, causing internal harm due to cold temp of food.
  3. Larger fish could eat frozen chunks of food, causing smaller fish to get none.

I have seen my Spotfin Squirrelfish eat frozen Krill I just added to the tank, and I swear I thought it was going to choke on it. He has also eaten chunks of the other frozen foods I added before the other fish get a chance to get any for themselves.

How do others handle frozen foods and feeding them to their fish?

Appreciate the assistance.
stauchistory is offline   Reply With Quote Top

Click Here!
Old 08-14-2010, 04:32 AM   #2
SAY
Ocellaris Clown