Cabo Pulmo Marine Reserve Already Threatened

Discussion in 'Environmental' started by Matt Rogers, Sep 15, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

Its been just one month since the success story of the Cabo Pulmo Marine Reserve was reported and now it appears its very existence is being threatened by development of a "new Cancun" that has "all but final approval" by the Mexican government. They state "such a resort would have no impact on the marine reserve" even though it will be located just 3 miles up the coast. I am not a scientist but someone please tell me how "3 golf courses, a 490-slip marina, a jetport, 15 hotels and numerous condos, equivalent to 30,692 hotel rooms or 10,230 three-bedroom condos or houses" and construction "extending over three or four decades" will not impact the reserve?

[​IMG]
    A blotchy Gulf grouper measuring over three feet long lurks in reefs in Cabo Pulmo National Park in the Sea of Cortez. | Octavio Aburto-Oropeza/iLCP/MCT

I would think dredging for the 490 slip marina alone would have an impact.

By the way, they have guaranteed boat slips to fisherman.

If there is something we as hobbyists and lovers of all things from the ocean can do, we need to do it now.

:(

matt

---

The Cabo Pulmo reefs hold 11 of the 14 species of coral found in the Sea of Cortez, which also is known as the Gulf of California. Its regular inhabitants or visitors include five of the world's seven endangered species of sea turtles.

Oceanographers report amazement at what they see. Aburto-Oropeza said he flew in an ultra-light aircraft earlier this year and spotted a congregation of sharks in the reserve.

"There were up to 200 sharks in a small part of the reef. It was unbelievable. In my 20 years of diving in the gulf, I hadn't seen anything like that," he said.