Hair algae is winning, HELP, now the refugium!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by bc219, Jan 9, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bc219

bc219 Millepora

Alright so I've been battling this hair algae problem for a few months, I'm starting to go crazy now. Still can't find the source of the GHA's food. This thread http://www.3reef.com/forums/algae/could-another-hair-algae-post-yes-54919.html talks about some things I've already done to TRY to help get rid of this crap.

About a week ago I bought a 1400k, full spectrum flood light for the fuge to help the cheato grow. Previously I was just using a standard 80 watt "fish tank" bulb.

I have had the daylight bulbs off in the display tank for 2 weeks, with only two T5 actinics running 12 hrs a day. (the fuge light runs the opposite 12 hrs)

I ordered a couple new 50/50 pc bulbs to replace the ones I currently have that I suspect helped this outbreak start. These bulbs should be here on the 12th.

A few days ago I noticed a major diatom bloom in the fuge, I figured I'd let it be since maybe if stuff is growing in the fuge, maybe it will starve the GHA in display tank?

Yestreday I noticed a ton of GHA starting in the fuge. The cheato is taken over by diatoms and now GHA.

Should I keep running the fuge lights??
    If yes, should I cut the time down, or increase it?

What if I starve the DT by enhancing growth in fuge, then what happens when I end up with a fuge full of GHA? When I get my new lights and run them, won't the GHA come back to the DT?

When actinics go bad, can they emit red light that can help GHA growth?

AARRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! HELP!!!!!!!!! :uzi:

Look, diatoms in the skimmer even!
    [​IMG]

2. Click Here!

3. Crimson Ghost

Crimson Ghost Blue Ringed Angel