will my idea work?

Discussion in 'Fish Tank Brands and Kits' started by jay is new to this, Aug 27, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. jay is new to this

jay is new to this Plankton

im not to sure where to put this post up, so ill put it here for now,
    i need to see what people think of my idea for my set up? and if it will work? i am new to SW, so im learning alot at the mo, any help is appreciated,:)
    i have a corner tank 40(uk)g which im going to drill for overflow, next to this i am going to have a 15g tank on my dresser cabinet, and under this is going to be my sump etc...

originally i was going to have a fish only main tank, and the 15g was going to be a 'fuge' with a few inverts in it, and was going to make a bit of a feature out of it, but now i have learnt that this is a bad idea,

so i now would like to keep the main as a FO, and would like to have the 15g as a small reef, and have a larger sump with the fuge and other stuff under there,
    i would have the main tank draining into the sump and fuge with its own pump for return, and also have the reef draining onto the sump and fuge, with its own return pump also,
    could this work? as i dont have much space, and intend on buying a very good oversized skimmer (aquac ev180) i already have a wetdry trickle filter, and am going to have a oversized fuge with decent sized return section to help with evaporation, plenty of live rock, and i also have a fluidised bed filter and canister filter if needed?
    is this twin set up possible? it would be great if it is, as i can then keep some of my fav fish, and a beautiful reef, without the worry of things getting eaten!!:)