Custom Glass Lid for tank Question?

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by CBSurfrider, May 5, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. CBSurfrider

CBSurfrider Millepora

I've gone back n forth between egg crate and getting some glass cut to fit the top of my tank. I went with glass, but when I sent in my measurements it will completely seal the top of my tank. It occurred to me last night that I need some sort of ventilation in the lid for gas exchange? I ordered (3) pieces to fit in conjunction with my braces which measure 22-1/2"w x 34"L. If I narrow down the width to 22" on each piece will that allow enough ventilation? I don't want to go too narrow and defeat the entire purpose of a lid.. Thanks for any input. I need to call them in a hour when they open to make any adjustments before they start cutting.

2. Click Here!

3. oldfishkeeper

oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

I'm afraid I'm not good with questions like these CBS. I might not go for the glass though - it tends to get a lot of moisture and salt creep on it which can interfere with lighting. I'm sure I missed giving my input before your deadline. I'm thinking as long as you allow for ventilation (the question is how much is enough) glass should be ok. It should also help cut down on evaporation.

CBSurfrider likes this.
  4. zesty

zesty Sailfin Tang

I've been throwing around an acrylic lid for my cube. I'm still debating the saltcreep issue on my side too. I have about an inch before the top of the tank and it does get some moisture up there... So, I'm sure I'd have to keep it wiped down or something...

what is it with creeps? Salt creep, Tds, both just creeps! hehe