Complete Guide to Moving a Fish Tank

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Articles and How To's' started by Astrick117, May 29, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Astrick117

Astrick117 Stylophora

During a few of my forum discussions, I have come across questions about how to move a fish tank and thought it might be a good idea to write-up a quick guide. This is my first attempt at a "walkthrough" so please bare with me.

Qualifications: I have moved at least 10 separate aquariums within the past few years, both salt and fresh. Using my "method" I have never had any problems with broken equipment or damaged/ dead inhabitants. Please note that these have been relatively short moves (1-2 hours drive time) and I do not recommend using this method for longer moves.

If you don't want to read through the entire guide, at least adhere to the following points:
    1. You cannot move a tank that has much weight in it as you can crack the glass or put stress on the joints
    2. You need to ensure that you have a method of transporting inhabitants that will not cause them to get crushed
    3. This is a great time to do a large water change, but you need to have the water prepped before-hand at the new location (proper temp, salinity, etc)
    4. You want to avoid disturbing the substrate bed during your move, unless you are replacing it
    5. Pack and move any non-essential items before starting to take down the tank
    6. Once the inhabitants are out of the tank, you want to try to move as quickly as possible- the tank should be either the first or last thing you move so you can devote all of your attention to it.
    7. Moving a tank will take longer than you expect, so make sure you are not rushed. If you are in a hurry, you take a chance of making a mistake that could jeopardize everything (aka dropping the tank).

Things you will need:
    • Container for equipment