Between two tanks

Discussion in 'Fish Tank Brands and Kits' started by 1dayteam120, Jan 21, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. 1dayteam120

1dayteam120 Astrea Snail

First I would like to start by saying that I am new to the saltwater world and I am looking at picking up my first tank. I am currently between two tanks and I was looking for some advice on what you all think.

Before going to my local fish store I had my heart set on picking up the coralife 29g biocube for a few reasons. I liked how everyting was built in, everyone told me that it was pretty much set up and instantly start setting up the tank( minus fish and other things because that takes around 4 weeks). Also I liked the fact that it was acrylic because I would have to move the tank 2 times a year from my college dorm room and I heard acrlic was stronger. The final thing I liked about acrylic was it had a 1 year warranty with the biocube...something that really made me feel safe if something happens

With all that being said I went to this store and the guy seem very quick about his stuff. He knew what he was talking about but I wanted to make sure that I was getting a second opinion before making a decision on a $300-$350 tank.

He told me to highly consider looking into the nuvo Innovative 30 gallon fish tank. He said that acrylic scratches easier and over the course of 2 years there would be so much scractching it would be harder to see through and it wouldnt look as nice as glass. Also he said cleaning it would be easier with glass.

I could understand him being biased about the tank thing if he had one for sale but he knew I wouldnt but the tank from him so I was wondering what you all thought of this advice.

Some questions I had about this is

1) If I had to drain both tanks completely to move(which I will have to Im fully aware) which is more likely to be shattered or broken or messed up during the move?