Zoa help please

Discussion in 'Soft Corals' started by Pennstatereefer, Jan 26, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Pennstatereefer

Pennstatereefer Feather Duster

I am still pretty new to the whole saltwater reef keeping thing and I am having problems keeping zoas. My tank is mostly sosfties with a few lsp. I keep water params in check, but have never had good luck with zoas. They just shrival up and starve themselves to nothing. Now I have read on here all kinds of things, to little light, to much light, and preditors. So I am a little confused. Right now my lights coinsist of 2 t5 ho 36" bulbs (one is a 10k and the other is a 20k) and 2 t8 24" atinics. In a few weeks I am planing on ordering another ballast and new ati light bulbs (2 36" blue plus,1 36" aqua blue, and 1 36" purple plus) I plan to run these over a standard 55 gal... Will that be enough light? As for the preditors I plan to look for them tonight. I know of the nudibranch one, but not to familier with spider and other possiblebad things. So could someone please direct me in a dirrection to some some pictures so that I know what I am looking for. Or give some direction or advice on what I could be doing wrong? Thanks Rick

2. Click Here!

3. Coastie Reefer

Coastie Reefer Millepora

Sometimes, some systems seem to have a hard time keeping zoas. It's is often times a mystery as to why. I have 40B mixed reef and have absolutely no problem with SPS corals, but have struggled with zoas until just recently. It may have nothing to do with your lights, filtration, flow, or pests. Just keep trying with some easier/cheaper zoas. Once they take hold move on to some of the more rare ones. I also try to get frags of no less than 4-5 and often time try for 10+. Not sure I would ever buy a single polyp....

4. Pennstatereefer

Ok thanks coastie. I will keep that in mind.

5. NanoMano

NanoMano Gigas Clam