Zero nitrates!!!!!

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by wfb2270, Dec 12, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. wfb2270

wfb2270 Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

i finally got my first zero nitrate test reading. kind of a long story but i have been fighting this for about 6 months now. i got my tank from someone moving. The tank was in REALLY bad shape. i started out with nitrate readings off the scale. at first when i would add the second bottle from the api test kit the drops would instantly turn blood red as it hit the water sample. here is a kinda run down on what happened

started doing massive water changes about 50% every two weeks or 25 every week. also tried a bunch of nitrate removing chemicals without any luck (algone, amquel plus) . brought it down to at least the scale of the test card but still way over 60ppm. did that for about a month then went to about 20% every 2 weeks/ month, from then till now.

started cleaning the canister filter weekly, helped a lot especially after the first major cleaning. and added an skimmer, Aqua C remora. came down to about 40-50ppm.

removed the canister filter and biowheel from HOB filter about 3 months ago. and started "blowing" off my rock with a powerhead when changing water. came down to 20-40ppm

added a deep sand bed about 1.5 months ago (about 4 inches). didnt do much at first obviously, but after a couple weeks came down to 10-20 ppm.

last week i started using chemi-pure, did a water change 2 days ago and tested my water tonight...........0. i am really excited.

i am going to buy a few more test kits tomorrow so i can start check the "reef" essential parameters. probably going to start with Alk, and Ca. (advice here would be cool). maybe next week I'll actually have a reef tank.

anyone that thought a new tank cycle was hard should have tried it this way....fixing a broken tank. Although i did learn a lot. (also had a fight with ich in there too)