YES ecoBAK removes PHOSPHATES!!!!

Discussion in 'Warner Marine' started by Jon Warner, Sep 17, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Servillius

    Servillius Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Houston, Texas.
    Makes sense to me. I've never liked temporary solutions, but I may remove the GFO and if phosphates come back, try upping the ecoBAK before I put them back on.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    Seems relatively easy to me... Get hyper with feeding as there is a great deal of phosphate in foods. Wouldn't this work?
     
  4. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    absolutely... its a method I recommend
     
  5. orly20

    orly20 Plankton

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    I have done lots of reading on different sites and this is the newest thread I can find about Ecobak. Does anyone know of a thread that documents their experience recently?

    JW, I have a Solana 34 gallon and am looking into getting one of the CPR mini reactors for nano tanks on ebay. HERE

    I keep reading that 250ml for 50 gallons. What would you suggest for the 34 gallon? I have read some crappy stories with bio pellets causing cyano blooms and slime.

    I have not yet read that about the Ecobak. Any in site on it? Have you seen any of these things happen with your product?

    Thanks,
     
  6. Thatgrimguy

    Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    North Biloxi, MS
    A huge collection of experiences are on this thread. The whole thread is definitely worth reading.

    http://www.3reef.com/forums/warner-marine/official-ecobak-thread-103809.html
     
  7. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hello,

    Yes check out the official ecoBAK thread. ecoBAK is VERY well reviewed and has been run by thousands of users for the last 2 years. ecoBAK can be a very "turnkey" product, but you will need a good protein skimmer.
    As with everything in this hobby, GO SLOW! Add a little ecoBAK on day 1 and add a little more weekly for a month until you're at the rec'd dosage. Run around 150ml on your 34g system.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. andrew_mo

    andrew_mo Plankton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    0
    Phosphate problems

    Hi, I have a 100 gallon SPS tank with a deep sand bed that kept my nitrates at an undetectable level, however, my phosphate always fluctuated between 0.04 - 0.20 ppm (but most time closer to the latter) even though I always run ROWA phos in my system at approximately 2 - 3 times the dosage recommended for my system. The tank has at least three (3) pistol shrimps that I cannot catch. They constantly stir up the sand and I'm not sure if they are responsible for the phosphate always being high. I feed small portions twice a day and sometimes only once a day.

    I've tried running an ATS in addition to the ROWA Phos which gave mixed results. Sometimes the PO4 was low (0.04 ppm) but most time it averaged about 0.15ppm.

    Frustrated, I decided to give the ecoBak bio pellets a try and added 500 ml to my system over a two week period. I have now been using the ecoBak pellets for seven (7) weeks now in a Phosban 150 reactor with a flow rate that causes a slow tumble.

    I can say that my water is definitely clearer and I am producing a lot more skimmage, however, my PO4 still fluctuates in the same manner as it did when I used the ATS. For example on Wednesday I got a PO4 reading of 0.04 ppm (Hanna photometer) and then two days later, the reading was 0.25 ppm. I am at my wits end with PO4. Can you recommend if there is something else I should be doing or if would be advisable to run a second reactor with an additional quantity of biopellets.
     
  10. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hello,

    Approx 8/10 users are able to discontinue GFO use with ecoBAK. However there are exceptions. You need to look at possible PO4 import. From some source or another, you're adding PO4. It could be your top-off water (RO/DI filter replacement?) or salt mix or a specific food, PO4 leaching from substrate or coming from some additive.
    The fluctuation is strange... you don't usually see that. I'm leaning towards PO4 being bound in the sand and released by critters...
     
  11. andrew_mo

    andrew_mo Plankton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    0
    I have to re-look at my top up water even though I use RO/DI. I'll also have to try to catch those pistol shrimps. Notwithstanding, can I double the recommended dosage of bio pellets in an attempt to further reduce my phosphates? I have measured the phosphate output of my reactor that houses the bio pellets. Sometimes the output is 0.01 ppm and other times it is close or the same as the phosphate in the aquarium ~ 0.10 - 0.15ppm.
     
  12. Jon Warner

    Jon Warner 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hello,

    You can add more ecoBAK yes. ecoBAK is a food source and a substrate. With additional ecoBAK you will gain some surface area and possibly scavenge a bit more PO4.
    Make sure the pellets are gently tumbling and if possible route output water near skimmer intake.