wonky test results

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by bradzillax, Sep 8, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bradzillax

bradzillax Plankton

Hi there everybody, i'd just like to introduce myself, my name is brad, and i've been reading the forums here at 3reef for a while now. I just decided to join as i have been reading the water chemistry section of the forums here. Since i'm an obvious newb, i've just been reading....alot! and not much to post. Anyways , i thought maybe you can help me with a question or two.

First off, I have the API reef and saltwater test kits. I've been doing tests on my water almost every day (or every second day) and recording everything in an excel sheet i made up for myself.
    To give you more of an accurate question, i guess i'll start on some basic tank specs and history. I have a 72 gal bowfront tank, Rena xp3 cannister, Aqua c remora H.O.T protein skimmer. 121 lbs liverock, Current nova extreme pro 48" 6xT5 light fixture, 4" aragonite and the tank is now about a month old. I started off with tap water and added stabilizer as per the LFS advice, then have done water changes with R/O. I have a real trouble distinguishing the colour of my ph test kit. Some days its obvious, some days i shake my head.

Over the course of the month i did add some green chromis, a blood shrimp, and a goby, on my bestfriends advice. (he's had a tank for a year or two now so i figure he knows what he's doing)

So over the course of the month my readings have been:

PH: steady climb from 7.8 (first week of tank running) to 8.8 before yesterdays water change, after the change, todays readings are 8.4

Salinity: 1.025 steady until my last water change yesterday of about 10 gal. which has spiked to 1.027 (probably my fault on mixing) is this safe? or should i add more r/o?

Ammonia: 0.25 up to 1ppm ( after adding the chromis) then back down to 0.25 and now 0 (after yesterdays water change)