Will this bulb combination work?

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by doTheEvolution, Mar 26, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. doTheEvolution

doTheEvolution Astrea Snail

I will be purchasing a 6x54w Tek light in about a week. Trying to figure out what bulb combination to use is driving me insane... I have done some research and came up with this...

All Giesemann bulbs...

Pure Actinic
    6000k Midday
    11000k AquaBlue Plus
    11000k AquaBlue Plus
    6000k Midday
    Pure Actinic

What I hope to accomplish with this setup is get decent coral growth and a color of, roughly, 14000K. Will this setup help me accomplish that? I am open to other brands and different setups.

Thanks for all of your help!:thumb_up:

2. Click Here!

3. Infantry1327

Infantry1327 Fire Shrimp

I am no expert, but ATI has been highly recommended to me. Plus they get great reviews. I was planning on doing a full Geisman setup, then I was told that the ATI's have a higher PAR rateing. Also judgeing by the bulbs you listed, your tank will be pretty light in color. You may want to diversify a little bit more to accent your colors and give your coral a fuller spectrum of light.

I would Go-
    Geisemann Pure Actinic
    UVL Aquasun 10,000k- https://diyreef.authsecure.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=55_59_86&products_id=426
    ATI Pro color- https://diyreef.authsecure.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=55_59_88&products_id=596
    ATI Aqua Blue Special- https://diyreef.authsecure.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=55_59_88&products_id=446
    Geisemann Midday
    ATI Blue Plus- https://diyreef.authsecure.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=55_59_88&products_id=449

Like I said, I don't have any experience with any of these bulbs, but they all have come highly reccomended by a number of the pro's on this site and others.

1 person likes this.
  4. doTheEvolution