Will garlic be enough?

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by JetEngineMech, Mar 11, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. JetEngineMech

JetEngineMech Feather Duster

I have a couple spots of ich on my yellow tang and one on a cardinal fish, all on their dorsal fin. I don't have a quarantene tank to put them in so I started adding garlic to their food today. Will that be enough to reverse it or is garlic only for prevention? I have crabs, snails, and shrimp otherwise I'd use the ich medicine.

2. Click Here!

3. rkemp

rkemp Astrea Snail

JetEngineMech,

Sorry to hear about the ich problems. I have been battling ich in my display tank for about 6 months now. I have the same problem that you do in that I have enough coral and inverts in the tank that I cannot apply any copper based medication. I have tried it all as well, I tried soaking the food in garlic, adding a UV sterilizer, using Chem- Marine stop parasite, ich attach, and simply hoping it would just go away. All have failed and I have lost a few fish because of it.

Most people here will tell you that quarantine is the only way to go. Though I have yet to be able to setup a quarantine tank I now agree that there is nothing else you can do. However on another note I can say that I have experienced that healthy fish in my tank have been able to build an immunity to the parasite. The orange shoulder tang I have was a fish that we purchased from a store that does pre-quarantine and get the fish nice and healthy before selling. That fish shows no signs of being infected by the ich in my tank, additionally the fish I do have in the tank are begging to show signs of building a natural immunity to the disease.

If you truly cannot take the fish out of the tank your best bet is to keep what you have as healthy as possible with good water conditions and variety diet

Good luck

4. missionsix

missionsix Super Moderator Staff Member