will corraline aglae grow back?

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by bdmetalmulisha, Mar 4, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bdmetalmulisha

bdmetalmulisha Plankton

hey everyone.
    i am still kinda new to the hobby. i am slowly learning more and more. luckily i have a small tank at the moment with hob filters and skimmers but will eventually buy a bigger set up with a sump.

just a question on live rock. my tank is finally phosphate free and the water parameters are good. i also have 2 wave makers to create some nice flow.

just wondering since some of my old live rock that had nice purple corraline algae on it died and turned white, will it every grow back on it??
    i have placed some new nicer pieces of rock in the tank covered in corraline so i am hoping it will spread to the pieces that once had it again.

i am using purple up to help give it a kick, but mainly keeping up with water changes which i do every second week about 10%.

thanks

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

Yes it will grow back.

4. gt40425hp

gt40425hp Feather Duster

it will come back now what color will it be lol my purple turned to white white turned to pink with bright green in some spots some is changeing back to purple its nuts lol

5. gt40425hp

gt40425hp Feather Duster

oh and some that was dark green has changed to a deep red i have only seen in 2 other tanks

6. libog2fish

libog2fish Fire Shrimp

some times the coraline does turn red...and don't get me wrong it might appear to be looking like cyano but it really is hardened red coraline..;)

7. Jesus

Jesus Flamingo Tongue

yea it should grow back with proper calcium levels :p

8. Click Here!

9. Clonefarmer

Clonefarmer Millepora