Will Carbon Help My Nitrates?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Hurley1536, Mar 10, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Hurley1536

Hurley1536 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

My nitrates seem to be down after the water change last night. Looks to have dropped from 160 to 120 or 80 (those ranges are hard to tell apart on my API test) I am going to do another 30 percent water change tommorow morning before I go on vacation. Someone suggested I use carbon to absorb nitrates. Will this work?

2. Click Here!

3. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

I am not an expert, but I don't think Carbon will help nitrates much. The water changes certainly will.

M

4. Night-Rida

Night-Rida Finback Whale

carbon will remove some impurities, and make your water clearer..

just keep doing 25%+ water changes, and add some macro algae either in your dt or sump. if you have bioballs slowly get rid of them and replace with live rock rumble pieces.. remove 25% each week.

Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  5. Hurley1536

thanks guys. N-Rida will it be ok to do a 30 percent tommorow morning and then another when i get back 3 days from now?

6. Hurley1536

ive got a softball sized cheato in my fuge should i add something different?

7. NASAGeek

NASAGeek Eyelash Blennie

Chateo is good.... reverse light cycle??

I would think those 30% changes would be fine.

M

8. Click Here!

9. amcarrig

amcarrig Super Moderator

Carbon will remove impurities from the water which may, in fact, help to reduce nitrates. Most folks run it all the time, not just when they're having problems. You may want to do the same.

10. Night-Rida

Night-Rida Finback Whale

make sure you got a good light down there.. CFL equivlent to 75+ watts and you can add a couple mangroves or other types of macro algae available..

11. unclejed

unclejed Whip-Lash Squid