Why is this happening to me HELP!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by vegasfish, Jun 4, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. vegasfish

vegasfish Feather Star

Long story short my new system had cycled about 3- 4 weeks ago Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate were at 0.

I added a a few snails and hermit crabs, a lawnmower blenny and a diamond goby and everything was still okay.

a couple weeks later I added 20 more snails 10 more hermit crabs and two clowns. ever since my peramiters have gone crazy. Today I tested and they are:

Ammonia= 0.75

Nitrite= 0.1

Nitrate=0

PH=8.3

Alk=2.6

my system is as follows:

65 gal wet dry filtration, 2"-3"sandbed, 70+ pounds of live rock two power heads. I did a 15% water change five days ago and it has only continued to decline. I am a newbie so any advice wil be good advice to me.

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

You added the fish too fast and now are going through a small/med cycle. Your supposted to add the fish one every month. Luna

Btw, how long has the tank been up and running BEFORE you added livestock?

4. HORTON16

HORTON16 Sea Dragon

Try a bigger water change?

1 person likes this.
  5. R34dawn

R34dawn Ocellaris Clown

What is your main pump rated at? and your alk need to go up, try to raise your alk then if your fish still alive rush to the lfs and get you some liquid bacteria additive and pour the whole amount according to your tank, or stress zyme cause your ammonia needs to go down asp

6. mandarin11

mandarin11 Peppermint Shrimp