Who makes the best LED fixtures

Discussion in 'LED Aquarium Lighting' started by mdbostwick, Feb 21, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. mdbostwick

mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

I am still in the planning stages (mostly) but I am trying to learn as much as I can before the day I purchase anything.

So I have been looking at a Aquatic Life LED 3.0W Marine Light Fixture expert series. I don't know if anyone has used these or not, It seems they are fairly new but i am no expert on lighting.

I am really hoping to get some feedback on this or a recommendation on a different brand or specific fixture. The tank this is going on is a 110g 48" x 18" x 30"D. I don't want to be restricted to what I can have by a light I will no doubtedly spend a fortune on, so just assume anything could be under this light.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

2. Click Here!

3. Recliner

Recliner Flamingo Tongue

Check out reefbreeders.com
    They are a sponsor here and might help you avoid spending a fortune. They were very quick to answer my questions and I will be getting 2 of their value fixtures with 60 degree optics for my tall 150 gal tank.

4. skurious

skurious Sailfin Tang

The fixtures I like best are the AI vega, maxspect razor, and if your on a budget the reefbreeders value fixtures.

5. sailorguy

sailorguy Torch Coral

+1,two of any of the above would light your tank very well.

6. mdbostwick

mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

I have also heard there are some LEDs to stay away from due to the way they are constructed. Any advice on what to stay away from?

7. Daniel072

Daniel072 Giant Squid

ummmm I would stay off of ebay when it comes to buying led's. If it were me, I would go with reefbreeders. I have an IT2080 that I purchased from a local distributor and I absolutely love it. See the last page of my build thread. The it2080 is equivalent to reefbreeders 32" photon.

8. Click Here!

9. Airstreamin