White powder/film in my new tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Leafer, Mar 31, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Leafer

Leafer Plankton

Hello all....
    I am extremely new to all this, and this might seem pretty winded but I’m just trying to explain it all
    I just started my 1st Saltwater Marine Tank
    Its 75g
    I started about 2 weeks ago

I am going really slowly with this tank as I am learning as I go...
    I’ve run into something I can’t seem to find out what it is so I thought I would ask you all.
    I have only put 40 gal so far into my tank and added the salt (IO) 1/2 cup per gallon as it said on the pale.

I only had one power head going at that time it was a Maxi-Jet 600 Power Head
    And had the heater set and running at 77-78

The tank after a few days went totally clear and was getting ready for the next step...except 1-2 days after that I checked it out the tank and noticed that all sides including the bottom was coated with this white film almost like it was the salt not mixing or something....

So from there I scrapped it off all the sides and the bottom and off the heater and the power head and it was pretty chunky (my neighbor who also has a marine tank said he has never seen this before) so the chunks started breaking down a bit and he just figured it was the salt as well and needed more current to help mix it up...so I added another power head...a Hydor Koralia 3 - 850GPH

After another few days with this current going it has broken up all those chunks (I tried to post some pics but the forum only allows a very small attachment and you cant see a thing) it has turned into a fine film on the top of the water and fine powder on the bottom...it’s no longer sticking to the sides or anything but it is still all there and not going away..Just getting swished around

Any help would be great