Which corals need additional foods?

Discussion in 'Coral Health' started by califjewls, Feb 23, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. califjewls

califjewls Astrea Snail

Ok so I am new to reefing and its a bit confusing with the conflicting info. I have received with regards to feeding corals additional foods.

Some say they just need a good light source with trace elements and your coral will be happy, but yet some corals need to be target fed shrimp and such.

Is there an article I can read up on the needs of different corals? Is it mainly LPS that need additional foods?

The world of saltwater makes my head spin sometimes...lol

Thank you in advance!

2. Click Here!

3. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

it varies coral to coral. i would give you a link if i had one, but the best think to do is research each individual coral you get

1 person likes this.
  4. rogerstammy

rogerstammy Peppermint Shrimp

But I don't want to!!!!!!

I want to buy everything and not have to research!! LOL J/K I am a research freak with my tank.

I agree.. research THEN buy...

5. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

Research each coral is vital....that way you know what type of lighting it requires, paremeters etc.

I go to the different sites that sell corals (saltwaterfish.com and vivid aquariums are some that I normally look at) I just look at the different corals that they have and read the description on it. Then if I am more interested in the coral I will google the particular coral. I also have couple books that describes corals...I am constantly re-reading those books, various magazines etc.

And finally, I figure if it has a mouth..then I know it requires extra food. Candycanes, acans, brains, duncans, etc...all get fed krill. I add coral freenzy in the tank a couple times a week also...and then target feed the suns

1 person likes this.
  6. califjewls

califjewls Astrea Snail