where am i going wrong

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by riosf63, May 25, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. riosf63

riosf63 Plankton

ok so I'm pretty new to this whole thing. I started a 55 gallon tank begining of may. I let it cycle for a week and a half. I put in some live sand some live rock. After that I did what most people do threw in some damsels. I put in two jewel damsels a four strip damsel and a blue devil damsel. I had to get rid of the blue devil he had something on him didnt want to risk it so I flushed him. I got a few snails and some peppermint shrimp next. Last week I added a two clown fish one of which someone dropped off at my job a percula clown bout an inch and a half long and a maroon clown which i bought. Then thursday I added a red anthias. Between sunday and today Ive lost both my peppermint shrimp my red anthias and my percula clown. I have no idea what i did wrong, whats wrong with my water. I tested my water and everything seems pretty legit I have no idea whats wrong and I am incredably frustrated. I do two 5 gallon water changes a week. I dont over feed I do everything I was taught to do at work from a guy who has been in the business for 45 years he knows his stuff and he doens't have any answers for me. I was hoping maybe someone would have some pointers or something. Thanks guys.
    ~Fernando

2. Click Here!

3. divott

divott Giant Squid

was you cycle fully finished? the majority of tanks dont cycle in a week and half. did you test your parameters to determine it was? also seems like you were stocking fast.

4. bje

bje Long-fin Bannerfish

way too much livestock at once. you just started the tank in may? checking my calendar, its still may.....

1) Did you monitor your water params to make sure it cycled atleast once?

2) What are the actual water parameters you're testing currently?