What type of lighting is best for me?

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by tpasche, Sep 29, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tpasche

tpasche Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

OK so i have a 46 gal bowfront, 68lbs LR and am about ready to upgrade my lighting.

Right now i have 1 standard fluorescent 50/50 bulb.
    I am looking at fixtures on ebay and found a Compact PC lamp for $75
    View it here

Is that a good way to go? I would like to get soft corals to start out in the future, don't plan on getting corals that are difficult as i'm still a beginner.

Is this the right type, or should i go with T5's or MH?
    I'd prefer not MH cuz they are so darn expensive...

Think this is a good buy or should I keep searching?

Thanks in advance!

2. Click Here!

3. Puffer Chick

Puffer Chick Giant Squid

Not sure if this will help you at all. But I have the same tank and plan on starting with softies and lps and eventually sps. So I went with the 4x39 t5 tek ho light for $350. Others can give you more options

4. iLLwiLL

iLLwiLL Sailfin Tang

I would go T5 or halide. If price is a concern, get a quality fixture used on craigslist, ebay, or local reef club. Just keep in mind the life of the bulbs. I would pass on the light your looking at and keep looking.

~Will.

5. JJK

JJK Teardrop Maxima Clam

You are looking at an odyssea PC fixture on ebay. I had one myself until recently. Honestly, not the way you want to go. The light output is not very good, especially compared with T5 fixtures. With the Odyssea fixture you might be able to keep soft corals, but you'd have a tough time with LPS and would not be able to keep SPS or clams at all. I would seriously consider a T5 fixture. Just be sure it will fit over your bowfront tank properly.

6. ontop27

ontop27 Ritteri Anemone