What is a fresh water dip?

Discussion in 'Coral Health' started by Lilou, Jul 27, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Lilou

    Lilou Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    From a previous thread I heard that one can do a fresh water dip with my different corals that are infested with flatworms. I did 2 Flatworm Exit treatments and the buggers are still going strong. The population isn't as big just all over 2 of my corals (ricordia mushroom and long flower pot) still.

    Can someone explain in detail how to do this and why it would not harm the corals yet kill the worms or detach them? I am due for a water change tomorrow and wouldn't mind doing it at the same time... If I am going to make a mess might as well be worth it. :)

    I am not so sure I want to do this!!!:worried2:

    Thanks,

    Lilou
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. aquaboy

    aquaboy Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Tatamy, PA
    Take fresh RO/DI wster and dip your corals in it. Just take them and dump them suckers in. Wait a minute and take out, place back in tank. Youd be surprised what falls off :)
     
  4. GeejEx

    GeejEx Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    San Bruno, CA
    Is this suggested for new adds or periodic "maintenance"?
     
  5. schackmel

    schackmel Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,153
    Location:
    St. Louis
    make sure your RO water is at the same temp, and add buffer to make water as similar to tank as possible.
    I was told to swish the corals while they are in there, for about 20-30 seconds.
     
  6. PharmrJohn

    PharmrJohn The Dude

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,615
    Location:
    Shelton, Washington
    You lost me at "add buffer". I need clarification.
     
  7. schackmel

    schackmel Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,153
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Want pH to be similar. Usually RO water is at lower pH then tank...my guess is because there is no light on it usually. So Buffer will bring pH up usually at 8.3
    This is how I was told to do it...I only did it once so I am by no means knowledgable enough myself to answer this ;D. So maybe somebody else will chime in
    I use Marine Buffer by Seachem now, as I am battling low pH right now in my tank.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. GeejEx

    GeejEx Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    San Bruno, CA
    RO/DI water has nothing in it to adjust pH, and thus is about 7.0 (neutral). Our tanks usually run 8.0-8.2 pH, thus you will want to add a pH buffer such as SeaChem ReefBuffer, Aqua Pharm pH Adjuster, etc. This is not (usually) needed with water changes as the salt mix contains ions to raise pH.
     
  10. nunch

    nunch Aiptasia Anemone

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Weston, Florida
    you don't need to add any buffer to RO if your just dipping them. won't hurt, but not necessary. they'll only be in there a lil' while. you'll be surprised how hearty they really are.

    now, if you have a QT tank, you'd wanna keep the params as close to your display tank as possible.
     
  11. Lilou

    Lilou Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    They are going in tonight. I'll keep you posted on the results tomorrow.
     
  12. Lilou

    Lilou Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Couldn't wait 'til tomorrow. OMG!!! The long flower pot shed tones of them littles buggers which looks like most of them. My mushroom didn't have as many and can't tell if he shed any at all. He is all kind of freaked out now, he still hasn't fully recovered from the flatworm war yet.