What factors into SPS polyp extention?

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by bulldogniner, Jun 20, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bulldogniner

bulldogniner Feather Duster

I am new to SPS and while keeping them alive and seeing growth doesn't present a problem, PE does.....and no, I don't need to talk to my doctor :)

My birdsnest and stylophora are fine, but my acros and milles do not have any PE at all.

Is it lighting, flow, water conditions...which I know is the case...but what is most important?

I have a 215 gallon with a 12 bulb Aquaticlife T5 light. SPS are in the top third of my tank.

I have two Korala 12v wavemakers...i believe 2500 GPH.

I don't have my specific params today, but in the past nitrites were 0, nitrates - trace, salinity 1.025, PH 8.2.

2. Click Here!

3. Va Reef

Va Reef Giant Squid

flow, available food, and lighting affect PE(assuming all tank parameters are good). More indirect flow, more food, and less light all equal more PE. could you post some pictures of the corals?

4. bulldogniner

I'll get some pics later tonight.

You said less light...did you mean more light?

I would think food being the lowest just for the fact that my friend never feeds his corals and has crazy PE.

You also say indirect flow...so nothing pointing right at them I assume?

5. Va Reef

Va Reef Giant Squid

Yes,
    lower light effects PE because the coral has to expand to capture more light

more food effects PE because obviously there is more food in the water, so the coral tries to increase its chances of catching it

anything too strong pointed at the coral can actually stress it out.

6. Frick

Frick Bristle Worm

It depends on the Acropora. Millepora typically does well and will get real fuzzy with strong waterflow and high light. If you try to do the same for plana you will get some bad results.