What Do I Need to Start Saltwater Tank?

Discussion in 'Salt' started by tthomasnguyen, Aug 26, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tthomasnguyen

tthomasnguyen Plankton

I'm new to fish overall, everyone is telling me how hard it is to keep saltwater fish, and maintenance. I have a keen interest in clownfish, and I want to get into breeding them eventually. Right Now I only have 40 Gallon tank, and I can buy pre-mixed saltwater from my local Fish store here(garden grove, Cali) But I also want to know what else I need, and estimate of how much each item will cost me, I'm only 18 and my I'm getting paid pretty well for a first timer. Please help me out! Thank you:confused:

2. Click Here!

3. Steve Goldsmith

Steve Goldsmith Fire Shrimp

Saltwater(you can get)
    Sand($30/20lb ish)
    Lighting(reef, marine, fowlr???)
    Refractometer($30+)
    live rock (varies.... Normally less than $8.00/lb)
    Base rock (try reefcleaners.org they have 50lb crates. And free shipping on orders $50.00+)
    some type of filter... What're you looking for? Power filter, skimmer, sump, five, canister, wet/dry... And patience. After everything is in the tank, you need to wait at least a month before adding fish or coral. Clowns are a hardy fish to start with. Quite hardy. And get a bucket and a drip acclimation tube from four local fish store. (LFS) you will also need a water testing kit that tests for nitrates, phosphates, alkalinity, nitrites, calcium, etc. And water circulation pumps. I would recommend two Koralia EVO 750s...

Hope this helped.

Steve

4. sticksmith23

sticksmith23 Giant Squid