What am I doing wrong?...calling water chemistry guru's

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Nismo400rgtr, Dec 14, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Nismo400rgtr

Nismo400rgtr Teardrop Maxima Clam

As I'll try to be as descriptive as possible, this will be long.

I've been Dosing ESV 2 part for the last two months now. Tank is only 4 months old.
    Current parameters:
    Ammonia: 0
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate: 1 ppm
    PO4: 0
    Ca: 415
    KH: 9.45
    Mg: 1485
    Salinity:1.027
    Temp:79.5 during the day and 78.5 at night

This is what the glass of my tank looked like yesterday morning and this morning after my PM Alk. dose.

[​IMG]

Horrible isn't it? And I just scraped it yesterday. Is this calcification? Does this mean the calcium in the tank instead of being available for coral is adhering to the glass?

I've come to the realization that I have no idea what I'm doing and am seeking help before I kill all my beloved inhabitants. I've been struggling to get parameters up seeking a glorified number instead of keeping stability. This is because I've recently decided to add more SPS and wanted the numbers that a lot of SPS keepers here have and maintain. I was aiming for 480 Ca and 11dKH. I've been Dosing 200ml Ca for the last week and a half(since the intro of my Acro's) in the AM via slowly poured out of my measuring beaker. I've been Dosing 200ml+ Alk for the same time span mixed in fresh RO via DIY dripper overnight. This seems like way too much, but for the amount, I'm not getting extreme results. While they are increasing, just slowly which is how I thought it's supposed to be done so I continued doing so in this manner. The problem I have in consistency is that when I do weekly water changes or have to add freshwater because my salinity is too high due to evap. and no ATO, it dilutes everything. Like one step forward and two back.