what all do i got here?, breedable? Male? or female?

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by timber127, Jun 17, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. timber127

timber127 Plankton

Hi all!,

I'm new to breeding chiclids, i have kept them before however they sadly killed each other they were both males and yeah it went bad :(, but i started again with 4 chiclids, 1 (believed to be) male aurtus !cid__Photo0156.jpg , 1 soild orange (from batch of assorted babies) !cid__Photo0154.jpg , 1 (believed to be) female? blue with black vertical stripes (no egg spots) !cid__Photo0157.jpg sorry she didnt want her pic taken ;p, 1 young blueish - yellowish in color with black vertical stripes !cid__Photo0153.jpg . My tank is aprx. 45gal tall, it also houses 5 green cory cats, 1 sun cat, 2 pleco's, and about a dozen feeder guppies that have surprisingly manged to avoid death lol! they babies however did their parents job, the aurtus, and the large adult blue with black stripes have been doing the mating dance?! the female? has made a nesting pit?... any help with letting me know whats goin on in my little underwater world is greatly appreciated :) also about breeding them, The muts that will come from the breeding are for my sole enjoyment, NOT to be sold and ruin the hobby, unless i end up with an amazing breed ;p Also, are they all mouth breeders? or do i have a mix?

Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  2. Click Here!

3. Sarrixx

Sarrixx Bristle Worm

Hard to tell the species from such blurry pics, the orange one looks like it could be a female Labeotropheus fuelleborni. Sorry I can't help with an ID on the rest of the fish .