Want to move him but

Discussion in 'Clams' started by Puffer Chick, May 13, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Puffer Chick

Puffer Chick Giant Squid

I have had my crocea on the sand for a couple weeks the person that had him before me also had it on the sandbed, i tried him on the rocks but then he jumped off and thankfully it was at night other wise he would have landed in the bubble, so afraid that he would fall in the bubble i just left him on the sand.

I did some slight tweaking around of the rocks and now i have a flattish rock that might be good for him, my only worry is that it's right next to the vortech and the ugly filter sock.

My question, i want to move him because he has truned pretty much completly on his side, so im thinking maybe he needs more light, but im worried about injuring the foot. I am new to clams so how do i know if he has attached it to the glass or not, i am worried that if he is attached that i will tear his foot.

Here's a couple crappy shots of him right now
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

Attempt to gently pick him up, if there is resistance then he is attached.

4. Dr. Bergeron

Dr. Bergeron Peppermint Shrimp

If you can get under your tank to look at the glass I would do that to see if you can see anything foot-looking. It might be a good idea to take a rock or maybe a big sea-shell and flip it upside down like a bowl, fill it with sand, and then put the clam on that. I've done that for our clam and it's worked well for me. So far it hasn't tried to jump off of it. This also allows for easy relocation of the clam if you need to for some reason like cleaning or emergencies.

If it's not attached to the glass, you could take a huge clump of sand up with it, or maybe get a tupperware lid to shovel out everything for the move.

5. Puffer Chick

Puffer Chick Giant Squid

ok thanks for the tip i will try