Use of Phosban

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by scoterri, Feb 14, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. scoterri

    scoterri Plankton

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL,Florida
    Hi all. Happy Valentines day!!!

    levels :

    Calcium 500

    Alk 12.2

    PO4 1


    I added some Phosban about a week ago but haven't seen any change ion my PO4 levels ( 1ppm). How longs does it take? The test kit info says this to too high for coral growth.

    I just added 75g (half the container) to the little mesh bad inside the jar, and placed it under my bio-ball area, before the sponge. Will this work, or does it have to have one of those reactors??

    if so, where do I get one, any good sugestions?

    thanks all

    Scoterri
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. scoterri

    scoterri Plankton

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL,Florida
    did I spell Phosban right?
     
  4. Scoffer

    Scoffer Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    What a BIG set of wings you have...

    are they real???

    :)
     
  5. scoterri

    scoterri Plankton

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL,Florida
    All yours scoffer, all yours !!! Now behave yourself and let me get an answer to my question...LOL.
     
  6. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    heh.
    I haven't used phosban yet because I am waiting for the reactor. If our sponsors don't have one, you can try Drs. Foster and Smith, although I think it's on backorder and they are supposed to have more in today.

    The reason people are going with the reactors is that it forces the water through all the media. Whereas a bag on it's own in the sump allows water to go around it.

    So I think where you have it is a decent choice but probably may take a while to be effective. Ask Jason McKenzie what his experience was. I think he has gone both routes here.


    matt
     
  7. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Matt is correct. I have the reactor now but have used Rowaphos in a bag to aid in the removal of PO4. I have little experience with phosban but believe it works in a similar way. It is more effective if you are able to force water through it, but does a good job in the fashion you have used. I would test again in a few days. Also remember it is possible that your test kit is not able to measure results as low as the levels in your tank. It may be giving you a 1ppm because that is as low as it can accurately measure. So you may find it takes a few days to get zero PO4
    I would also recommend a light sand bed stir in order to ensure you do not have a Phosphan problem in your sand that is slowly leaching into the water.

    J
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Scoffer

    Scoffer Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    phosban problem in my sand?? like phosban particles that have settled into the sand? or did you mean a phosphate problem in my sand??

    :) thanks guys....

    Sco
     
  10. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Sorry What I meant to say was phosphate problems in the sand
    I'm really sick and my brain isn't really working

    J
     
  11. Birdlady

    Birdlady Finback Whale

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,716
    Location:
    PhillySuburbs, Pennsylvania
    Jason,

    I know you were distracted by the big wings....admit it! LOL!!!!!

    sorry..... ;D ;D ;D
     
  12. scoterri

    scoterri Plankton

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL,Florida
    too funny ....LOL [smiley=biglaugh.gif] Thanks for the feedback.... I think we will just wait a little longer , check it again and hopefully see the levels moving in the right direction.