Upgrading a 72 gal. to a 180 gal.

Discussion in 'Fish Tank Brands and Kits' started by packagerat, May 13, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. packagerat

packagerat Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I finally convinced my wife that we needed a bigger tank. I have been doing SW for 2 years now and went from a 20 to the 72 now the 180. I am still a newbie at this and have plenty of questions so I hope everyone is patient.
    1) Will the sand in the 72 be useable in the 180 ?

2) Sump and refugium will be in basement it will be about 10 feet of head on the pump, any recomdations ? (sump is drilled with a 1" bulkhead)

3) Tank is drilled with a 1.5" bulkhead and with the plumbing running down from that height will I have to do somthing like a sink "s" trap to slow it down when entering the sump ?

4) Will the new tank have to cycle before adding anything from the 72 ? LFS has at least 200 lbs of LR that is fully cured and the 72 has 120 lbs in it.

This past weekend I started on building the stand and will start posting pictures soon. In the basement under the tank on the wall is where the sump and refugium will be. The structure they will be in will also add some extra support to the floor above. The floor currently is supported with 2x4 floor truss's. I want to do this with the least amount of stress on all the inhabitants
    I am sure I will have many questions as I go forward and all your opinion will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance ! John

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

Great job on the convincing part, you gotta let me know what you said:cheesy:
    1. Hell ya, just syfone it in the 72 before you put it in the 180g
    2. I dont have much exp. in separated systems like yours, but magdrives are very powerful. You might need to go with an external pump that is strong enough for the job.