UPDATE on Odyssea PS160 skimmer

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers' started by lunatik_69, Jul 26, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,934
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Well, this is my conclusion on the Odyssea PS160 protein skimmer. WHAT a piece os S**t. Djnzlab1 was right on the money. How could you buy something that doesnt come with instructions? Especially when you didnt go to protein skimmer university!!! After playing around with all different parts to see which one was it, copied my present skimmer's set up, I followed the pic that OGW sent me and as Djnzlab1 stated, it kept on overflowing. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. Hey OGW, spend the extra $$$ and get a good skimmer, I did!
    1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

  3. OGW

    OGW Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Sylvan Beach, NY
    Thanks for the report...Karma Up ;)
  4. Md_reefer

    Md_reefer Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks for the report!!
  5. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,934
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Maybe I was a little harsh labelling it a piece of s**t. If it would have came with instructions maybe things would be different. I dont know, whatever!!!!
  6. djnzlab1

    djnzlab1 Aiptasia Anemone

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Va Beach, Va
    Save the pump it works pretty good,

    HI,
    I saved my pump from the skimmer and used it for my 2 fish phos reactor it has a little more power than those simple power heads.
    Be sure you have a GFI in your power loop in case you get a short in a pump, you'll know all your power will be off.
    Doug
  7. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,934
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I thought about saving the whole unit for something else, but I think I'm going to sell it on ebay. Try to get some $$$ back.;D If you know of another use that I can put it to, please let me know. Thanks
  8. Click Here!

  9. OGW

    OGW Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Sylvan Beach, NY
    I'd save the pump at least...I'm sure it could come in handy later.

    I have an idea for the rest of it...but it involves pyrotechnics;D
  10. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,934
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    dont give me any ideas, I'm a big time fan of pyrotechnics;D . I use to build/make my own fireworks when I used to live in NYC
  11. djnzlab1

    djnzlab1 Aiptasia Anemone

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Va Beach, Va
    Note to self don't irritate pyro builders.

    Hi,
    How big was those pyro devices did they level buildings or cars.:eek: . hehe
    doug
  12. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,934
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    for the record, I did make fireworks that exploded, but I was more into arial displays and mortor shells.;D