Thoughts on Vodka Dosing

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by JustinNJ, Feb 1, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. JustinNJ

JustinNJ Plankton

Hello all,

This is my first post so please pardon any mistakes I may make. I am new to the saltwater hobby and set my 75g FOWLR up on December 27th. My current stocking is 2 Ocellaris Clownfish, a Flame Angel and Lemon Peel. After testing my levels today, the nitrAtes are a bit high for my liking. I know in a FOWLR nitrAtes typically aren't of major concern but I would like to keep them as close to zero as possible. The results using the API Liquid test kit are as follow: Ammonia: 0, NitrItes: 0, NitrAtes: 20+. I have about 90lbs of rock and 100lbs of sand in the tank and a Coralife Skimmer 125. I did a 20 gallon water change on 01/24 and another one yesterday and they haven't put a dent in the nitrAte levels. I've been reading up on how vodka dosing helps lower nitrAtes and phosphates. Do you think the tank is still just establishing bacteria and I should wait or do you think dosing might be the way to go? Thank you for your help :).

2. Click Here!

3. Av8Bluewater

Av8Bluewater Giant Squid

That's a pretty new tank.. could just be a part of the normal cycle. Either way it's hard to tell whats going on in your tank. One would have to see your set up and method of nutrient export.
    As far as vodka .. In my reading it seems people prefer vinegar over vodka. Less cyano blooms with vinegar. You could also check out biopellets which do the same thing and / or
    prodibio. They all basically do the same thing. I've been using prodibio with fantastic results.
    For fish only 20NO3 is not a big deal..but there is potential for algae.

4. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

You'd want a better skimmer for any of the carbon fishing methods listed above. Honestly, a better skimmer might solve your issues without dosing.

5. JustinNJ

JustinNJ Plankton