This hobby has the best and the worst...

Discussion in 'The Bucket' started by SinCityReef, Apr 23, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. SinCityReef

SinCityReef Astrea Snail

I really wasn't going to say anything, but I have the urge to share this story as closure/catharsis for my horrible week. Sometimes I think this hobby has the best and worst people in the world. I'm not going to name names, please don't ask.

I am a firm believer in Karma, I'm a teacher, grad student, and mom and always help out with frags for new reefers locally. I thought some of that good karma was coming around to me when I was offered a frackin amazing trade earlier this week for something I REALLY wanted! I cut the frags for this guy on his request, including some colonies I have NEVER cut before for ANYONE. Trade was entirely his idea.

First they weren't big enough for him, but that's okay, he'd do it anyway. I was upfront that this was my first time shipping coral. He gave me instructions that I followed to the letter which contradicted many websites. Then I paid for shipping to him out of pocket. Something went wrong in transit and he takes it personally, claiming that the whole batch died, but the worst part was that he starts sending emails attacking me personally. Yes, I made a mistake shipping, I admitted it and apologized (Actually, fedex did when I saw the pics, and I took it up with them, too, but I take responsibility, so I didn't pass the buck when it came to them. I got on the phone yelling with fedex, but to him I just said 'you're right, I'm sorry'. The girl at the counter didn't label the shipment properly when she processed it, despite arrows and 'this end up', it shipped the whole way on it's side...)