This halide good for clam

Discussion in 'Clams' started by jay02483, Apr 20, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. jay02483

    jay02483 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    im am looking into buyying a metal halide fixure with a 150w 15k bulb and 2 39w t5 actinic. i have a 29gal and im about to upgrade to a 46gal could this fixure support a clam?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. tigermike74

    tigermike74 Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Location:
    Southern CA
    You should be ok with it. I have a 70W HQI and 48W T5 on my 20G and my maxima is going good. You may need to have him closer to the light though, depending on how deep the tank is.
     
  4. adam

    adam Montipora Digitata

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    The fixture would have to have 2 150 watt bulbs because the 46 bow has a brace in the middle. I have never had luck with clams. I also have a 46 bow
     
  5. tigermike74

    tigermike74 Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Location:
    Southern CA
    Woops, somehow I overlooked the 46G upgrade part and only focused on the 29G part. DOH! Sorry. Yes, go with 2 bulbs in this case.
     
  6. GuitarMan89

    GuitarMan89 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,736
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    It could, but as the others have said, you don't want a MH lamp in the middle of the tank. It can cause the plastic brace to deteriorate and eventually break. I would suggest two 150s, or stick it off center, but that will look cheesy.
     
  7. Daniel072

    Daniel072 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,677
    a couple of 150's would be great on a 46 but I do agree that you don't want to put one over the middle.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. RNO CORALS

    RNO CORALS Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Sparks Nv
    Those 150 watt halides in your 46 gallon is definetlly enough lite for the maxima, I have seen maximas do well under just PC.
     
  10. jay02483

    jay02483 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    cant i just cut the brace out? will that affect the intergity of the tank?
     
  11. PackLeader

    PackLeader Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,716
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    If you cut the center brace, the front pane would basically start to pop out ;)
     
  12. PharmrJohn

    PharmrJohn The Dude

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,615
    Location:
    Shelton, Washington
    I have seen a tank with an offset MH and T5s on the other side. It looked good. A little brighter on the left, but nothing too noticable. So it is possible and it will look fine if done correctly. But that brace does need to be kept intact and in good health. It would be a bad thing if it went away.