The Sailfin Tang&Severe fin erosion

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by Siddique, May 13, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Siddique

Siddique Dragon Wrasse

My sailfin tang has some really bad fin erosion. It remained untreated for several months, I was hoping he would get better through clean water and water changes.
    His fins are almost, if not already down to bone. I've heard that increasing his nourishment by feeding nori and macro algae, would help him regain his fins. Is this true or should I begin medicating?
    If so, what med? I was thinking melafix and pimafix.

2. Click Here!

3. Siddique

Siddique Dragon Wrasse

4. SaltyFred

SaltyFred Flamingo Tongue

Hello Siddique, I am sorry to hear of your misfortune. I have never really had an experience with fin rot as extensive as your case sounds. However, with that said I feel that it is not entirely too late for your Tang. I am a college student working at a local fish shop to pay the bills and more often then not people ask the same melafix or pimafix question.

Melaxfix is generally used in your type of case. Melafix is used to treat cloudy eyes, ulcers and open wounds I beleive, and of course tail and or fin rot.
    Pimafix is for both internal and external infections however it tends to do especially well with cases of cotton diseases that tend to infect mouths, gills, etc.