Tank Stand for 4 55gallon tanks

Discussion in 'I made this!' started by AquaticZen, Jul 25, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. AquaticZen

AquaticZen Astrea Snail

Hi Everyone,
    I want to build a large stand that will house 4 55 gallon tanks. My girlfriend is moving in in about a month and I need to make some room so I figured it'd be best to consolidate all of my freshwater tanganyikan cichlid tanks. I've got several breeding pairs and I figure I can divide the 55gallon tanks into two and house a breeding pair on each side.

I've designed something and I drew it up using google sketchup. I've never built a stand this large before and I figured someone else around here must have done it. Do you think this stand will be strong enough? I plan to put the tanks in from the side as I don't have enough room for the stand to be long enough to install them from the front. I will probably plumb them all into a large sump on the floor and I'll use the two shelves to house the aquariums.

If you need another view from sketchup I can get you another angle. This is the first time I've used sketchup, I hope I got meaningful screenshots.

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. PackLeader

PackLeader Giant Squid

Looks strong enough, and awesome sketches! I take it they are standard 2X4's, right?
    The only thing I would suggest, is that because it is so tall, is to make provisions and plan ahead to actually secure it to the beams in a wall. It will be pretty top heavy and could tip over a lot easier than a normal set-up due to the height.

4. AquaticZen

AquaticZen Astrea Snail

Thanks Packleader,