Tank overrun by majano

Discussion in 'ID This!' started by GjB, Dec 5, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. GjB

GjB Skunk Shrimp

I acquired majano anemones as hitchhikers on my LR when I started this tank 2 years ago (not visible at that time). They have spread like wildfire ever since. They have taken over all of the corals that i have placed in my tank.

The good news: I no longer have to kill aptasia because they have nowhere to grow.
    The bad news: These don't look much better than aptasia.

Should i have been killing these along with my aptasia for the last 2 yrs? I also have pink-tipped anemones that are overrunning half of my tank. These also came as hitchhikers that I could not see at first. These look a little better than the mojano.

Im thinking about rebuilding my tank. Replacing all of the LR but keeping my crushed coral substrate for beneficial bacteria. Should I have any concerns with these plans?

Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  2. Click Here!

3. Thatgrimguy

Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

You will most likely have the pest anemones pop right back up if you don't start over from scratch including the substrate.

4. GjB

GjB Skunk Shrimp

Thank you for the quick reply. Will I be safe removing the substrate as well, or will I need to scrub the walls of the tank with any certain type of brush? The mojano have even made it into my fuge, albeit there are only a little spawn or two.

I have never broken down my tank to start from scratch, so any info would be appreciated.

5. PghSteeler

PghSteeler Tassled File Fish

Get a double saddle butterfly fish. Almsot garunteed to wipe out every last aneomne inyour tank for $40

6. Reef2Keep

Reef2Keep Purple Spiny Lobster