Tank Disaster

Discussion in 'Diseases' started by Heather Carver, Mar 18, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Heather Carver

Heather Carver Astrea Snail

Hello Everyone!
    I have had a saltwater fish tank for 5 months. I'm new to saltwater but do currently own 3 freshwater tanks so I do have some fish experience. I did everything that you are supposed to when starting up a fish tank. Got a pound of live rock per gallon, got live sand, and bought the appropriate canister, heater, protein skimmer, and lights. Fast forward a month and I added two bangaii cardinalfish to the tank. I did everything you are supposed to, dripped them, floated the bag, etc.They had no problems. A month later, we added two snowflake clownfish who were already paired together. Did everything you are supposed to do with them as well. A month later we added I added a yellow tang. I only added a few or two a month and took everything slowly. A month later my dad (who doesn't know much about saltwater) bought a powder blue tang and a six line wrasse. I know you are not supposed to keep two tangs in the same tank but for some reason the yellow tang and the powder blue got along well. Four days after purchasing the powder blue tang and the six line wrasse, they both came down with severe ich (honestly, I think it was velvet). This is when the tank disaster begin. Within 12 hours of showing symptoms, they powder blue tang died. The wrasse was just as bad but survived. I treated the tank with Ruby Reef Ick out and Rally. It treated the tank. A few days ago, I noticed that my male snowflake clown fish was laying at the bottom of the tank. I figured he was just hiding. Than yesterday I noticed that his top back fin was completely gone (see photo). Other than a little red, he was eating and fine. Today, he took a turn for a worse and just died. I'm not sure why. I need to know what might have happened to the clown fish to prevent any more