sun polyps

Discussion in 'NPS Corals' started by jtr38230, Aug 17, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. jtr38230

jtr38230 Skunk Shrimp

:confused: My wife bought these about a week(6 days) ago and they still haven't opened I have moved them all over the tank. Put them in the darkest spot I made a cave for them I have tried to feed them everyday. I'm kinda lost on what to do to get them to come out. I have fed marine snow, zooplex, brine, and mysis shrimp. My water is testing good I have no other problems with anything else. Any ideas on what to do? :confused:

2. Click Here!

3. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

They are a NPS (Non-Phostsynthetic) coral. Placement shouldn't matter in terms of lighting. I have no experience with them myself, but everytime I see them at a LFS they are closed. try feeding after all lights go off. I've been told they open up for some after that. They will have to be spot fed once they open weekly if not more due to being a NPS coral.

4. leighton1245

leighton1245 Horrid Stonefish

You have to feed them when they open mine open about once a day normally right after my 12K lights go off. What you can do to get them to open take aturkey baster and squirt a little food in there area and wait like 30mins (yes it does take that long) and then feed away. I have the Black sun coral.

5. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

Let me also add that constant moving and touching of the coral will disturb it and take it longer to fully acclimate and open. I know it is nerve racking when you get something new to make sure it is okay, but it is actually best to leave it be for a little bit and give it time. like leighton said above, follow his instructions for feeding as he has first hand experience.

6. leighton1245

leighton1245 Horrid Stonefish