Sump/Refugium Setup Questions

Discussion in 'Refugium' started by Flying Turkey, Feb 9, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Flying Turkey

Flying Turkey Astrea Snail

The refugium section of my sump for my 50 gallon cube DT is 6" wide x 16" long.

Sump configuration is skimmer on the left, fuge in the middle, return on the right.

A few questions as I'm new to reef aquariums:

1) Is 6"x16" enough room for an effective DSB? (I'll have a SSB in DT) Or go DSB in DT?
    2) Should I skip sand in the fuge all together?
    3) I plan on growing Chaeto, do I need a light that will light the entire fuge? (16" long?)
    4) Is it important that the light only shine on the fuge or is it okay if some light overlaps into the skimmer/return sections?
    5) What is the most effective fuge light?
    6) Can I use a 5000k light or does it have to be 6500K?
    7) Do compact florescents need frequent replacement? If so how often?
    8) I plan to use Chemi-Pure Elite. Should it go in the section where the tank drains into the sump just before the skimmer, or after the fuge before the return pump?
    9) The sump came with bio-balls, ceramic rings, and filter media. I've removed the bio-balls, do I need the filter media and ceramic rings?
    10) Should I use a filter sock? No mechanical filter at all?
    11) Should I have the fuge ready to go before I cycle my new tank or after I cycle it with live rock?

I know it's a long list but I've read a ton of info on this and I'm completely confused now.

Thanks for the help!

2. Click Here!

3. Todd_Sails

Todd_Sails Giant Squid

And I had thought it said, 'frying turkey', which IS one of my favorite things to cook/deep fry!

While I feel I have an educated opinion on all those ?'s you asked, I sort of feel you have a good answer already for all of them, or you might not be asking.

No 2 reefers systems are alike, and if they are, shear coincidence.