Stocking Order Generalities

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by RogerL, Mar 22, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. RogerL

RogerL Fire Worm

i would like to start a thread that explains a few of the basics of stocking order, and favorite fish for different situations. in general, which fish should be added first? last? anytime? also, what are everyone's favorite fish for a FO tank? reef tank? my favorites so far ( i am very new to the hobby) are lionfish and angels, but i also LOVE my two blue damsels (my only fish in my 90g so far). they have so much personality! any suggestions for a good angel for my experience and tank size?

2. Click Here!

3. Wrassman

Wrassman Peppermint Shrimp

Hey Roger,

Is this still going to be a FOWLR tank? Or, is it now going to be a reef tank? Think carefully before you answer. Your answer will determine the direction of my next set of questions and assumptions (hint: lionfish and angels do NOT do well in a reef environment).
    [smiley=whip.gif]

Is this still a 90g tank? What is in there (substrate, live rock, filter, protien skimmer)? Did you or are you planning on adding a sump any time soon? When?

Sorry for all the questions, Roger. But you ought to know by know that I can't answer the questions without knowing where you are and where you want to go. It's better to get your answers from ONE source, Roger. Don't go to several different reefing forums and start playing us against one another. Just because one gave different information based on the limited information you are giving out, doesn't make you some kind of sweepstakes winner. [smiley=stars.gif] I would very much appreciate it if you would pick one forum (ours would be just fine) and stick with us throughout the process. Otherwise, you are going to get all kind of conflicting information; and believe me Roger, YOU DON'T NEED IT!!! [smiley=skull.gif]