Starting up a 75g

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Indigo, Oct 12, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Indigo

Indigo Plankton

I've been keeping freshwater tanks for over 15 years, but this will be my first saltwater tank.

I've read up on it quite a bit and need some extra help.

My lfs offered to use water from his tanks for the initial set up. I will also be getting about 60lb of live rock from him.

For the filter, I originally was planning a sump, but some say that you can go with canisters. I have 2 marineland c-360 plus another canister I'm buying next week.

I plan on starting the tank as a fowlr, then MAYBE getting a good light and some coral down the road. (I am very into freshwater planted tanks).

My stocking is going to be (probably)
    3 chromis, a scooter blenny, some shrimp, and possibly a sifting starfish when the tank is more establish.

For a tank like this, what wc schedule do I need? I know someone who swears that they're not needed, but coming from a fw background, I always do them on my tanks.

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Welcome.
    :)

I have always have done water changes of 10-20% at least monthly.

Go sump over canister if able.

4. Indigo

Indigo Plankton

I'd like to do a sump, but I'm afraid of malfunctions. I have an empty 20g (or should it be higher?) that I planned on using when I thought I was getting a 40g breeder.

My lfs has a guy who drills tanks. The only problem is that there's a sticker on the bottom of my 75 that says its tempered. Doesn't say if it's the whole tank or just the bottom.

The tank is a marineland with a wood stand, if that helps. I know it's usually just the bottom that's tempered, but I guess we'll know for sure if we decide to drill it ^_^'

5. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

I tried googling to find out, nothing definitive on 75 gallon tank. I would call them.