Urgent Sprung a leak w/ new fish

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by reefadd1ct, Jul 12, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. reefadd1ct

reefadd1ct Plankton

So I'm pretty new to this stuff and I have myself in a pickle yesterday I just put a hippo tang in the tank all is well with the fish doing just fine was a little freaked out for the first few hours in the tank he finally warmed up to everyone in the tank so I sat down and was watching him and noticed a drip on the side of the tank here is where it get good...my 75 HAS SPRUNG A LEAK so my question is this the leak is pretty slow it hasnt even filled up a cup in 24 hours but I have read that the hippo's are really finicky with ich and stress etc etc since he hasnt even been in the tank for any period of time is it going to stress him out even more should I give him a day or 2 more or just bite the bullet and do the change today I have the new tank sitting right by waiting for action but I am concerned for the well being of my new pride and joy so let the cup fill and let the fish chill or do it now before it turns into a real disaster ANY COMMENTS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED I COULD USE THE HELP ASAP:-/:-/:-/:-/

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef,

I my opinion, the risk of a leaking tank getting dramatically worst and causing ruptures at the seams is not worth it.

I would plan on moving everything over in the near future.

I would never even be able to sleep at night knowing I had a tank with compromised integrity with regard to structure.

Tank and everything in it versus one fish perhaps getting stressed, it's an easy decision for me to make.

4. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Just wanted to add that I would to everything to make sure the water is indeed coming from a leak before any intervention.

Good luck, I hope it all turns out well.

5. aw1447

aw1447 Montipora Capricornis