Splitting OR Dying?!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Coral Health' started by ea7x, May 18, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ea7x

ea7x Plankton

hello all. this is my first post, I'm a total newbie to the forums! I chose to post here because I have a plate coral that had been doing amazing and just recently it looks as if it were going to split in two. There are times when it looks pretty healthy, the arms are full and moving freely and then other times they're all shriveled up and not looking too happy. It used to be a complete oval shape and now has a big crack on the one side. Right now, it's just sitting on the sand bed. Alos, my crabs seem to be getting into it more often, something we've never seen before. If anyone has any suggestions or might be able to help, please let me know, and if I need to give more info such as tank specifics, let me know too! Once I figure this site out, Ill put up some photos!!! Thank you in advance!!!!!

-e ;)

2. Click Here!

3. scenario1313

scenario1313 Tassled File Fish

I may be wrong but I am not aware of plate corals splitting. They kick out little babies to multiply. I have one but it has not yet made babies yet. Lets see what others with more experience with them have to say.

4. ea7x

ea7x Plankton

I've only mentioned my issue to one other tank mate so far (who doesn'y have much experience either) and he didn't seem very opptimistic when I described everything to him. :-[ I should really get some photos up to show what I'm trying to describe huh....lemme work on that. Thanks for the reply, I have a feeling I will be on here a lot more! Hopefully not because I'm killing coral though, this really is the first time I've run into a not-so-good situation with my tank. lol

e

5. scenario1313

scenario1313 Tassled File Fish

6. ea7x

ea7x Plankton

Here is a photo of the coral about 3 weeks ago. Since then it has been moved to the opposite side of the tank.

[​IMG]