Spiney clear thing with tentacles???

Discussion in 'ID This!' started by Gabby, Oct 11, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Gabby

Gabby Spaghetti Worm

Hello everyone!

I am new to reef keeping, and have a hitchhiker on my live rock that I can't seem to find an ID for. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I don't have a camera capable of taking a good enough picture for it to show up, so I will do my best to describe it ::)

This thing has the shape of an urchin, but it doesn't move (been in the same spot for 2 weeks). The diameter is about the size of a quarter and all the spines are clear and VERY thin. It has 2 'tentacle' like things that are slightly longer than its spines that come out of the middle and wave around... not sure if they are eating, or just defensive.

I wish I could take a pic, but my crappy camera on my cell phone doesn't pick it up :(

Anyone have an idea of what this might be? Should I take it out somehow?

Thanks!
    Gabby

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Oh my I have absolutely no clue. Sounds very strange too bad you can not get a pic. All I can do is suggest the links below. Now that you have peaked my interest please let us know what it turns out to be.

Indo Pacific Hitch Hikers

Look under the Odds and Ends grouping.;D

4. Gabby

Gabby Spaghetti Worm

Oooh that's a really useful link!!! Unfortunately though, I don't see anything that looks like what I've got...
    Hmm... maybe I could draw a pic??? don't know how helpful that would be though, with my artistic skills ::)

5. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

6. Gabby

Gabby Spaghetti Worm

Well, I did my best to draw the thing... I will ask John as well...

Got a CUC from him coming this week :D

Hope my drawing helps.

Attached Files:

7. SushiGirl

SushiGirl Barracuda

8. Click Here!

9. johnmaloney

johnmaloney 3reef Sponsor