Simple aquascaping question

Discussion in 'The Planted Tank' started by Lady J, Aug 18, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Lady J

Lady J Peppermint Shrimp

Hi all,

I'm very new to planted tanks (like 8 weeks lol ). Well anyway, I've seen many suggestions regarding different ways to scape the tank. I am trying to do the triangle one where it's tall on the right side and gently slopes to a low point on the left. All of plants are green and was wondering if adding a red tiger lotus to the lowest part of my thank (the left side) would somehow make the tank "look" wrong as the focal point is on the right side.

Sorry, I don't know how to load a picture or I would. ::) Maybe later I can get my teenage son to download one for me so you can get a visual.

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

That would depend on how you have the left side. If it open sand then the Lotus in the sand area would not look to bad.

For pictures get a Photobucket account, they are free, and upload your photos to the site. Just click on the IMG link they provide in the drop down menu of each photo and paste it in your post.

4. Lady J

Lady J Peppermint Shrimp

I'm just gonna hang out with you 2in10 'cuz you seem to help me with everything. ;D

The left side is pretty much just plain sand (it's begging for something over there). I could try putting it in the higher, focal point range but I'm not sure it would have enough room. I have my little banana plant where the lotus could possibly go, not sure though because it might get squished by the glass. It depends on the circumference of the lotus.

Right now I only have my camera phone so I doubt I could even get a fairly clear picture. Ugh, sometimes I hate technology. *sigh*

5. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

The lotus can take over large sections with the leaves as they can grow to 6" to 7" long and 4" to 5" wide.

We do not have too many planted tank enthusiasts here.