Shoulder Tang with mystery body illness! Pic Heavy, need opinions %& help

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by PULP18, Apr 18, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. PULP18

PULP18 Plankton

Hi guys,

This maybe my first or second post and need your advice to diagnose and suggest any treatments. I have a naso tang and maroon clown in qt right now treating for ich for another 3 days.

What does my shoulder tang have? black ich? head and lateral disease? Most of it is on the left side as a big patch. he also has it right above the eyes on the forehead.. any ideas? I am new to the hobby and have had a few fish die.

Tank is 125 gal w/ 70lbs of live rock, all parameters are great, i feed fish every other day, switching between Spectrum Thera +A Reg formula, Misis and Misis thats green mixed with a ton of things. I have two niger trigger, sailfin tang, and a small snowflake eel.

Thank you for any help, hopefully this post will break me into the 3reef forum and start posting more!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 25, 2012
  2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef.

Sorry I can not be of more assist. Black ich is not isolated to one spot or large spot like that. It is many tiny black dots (which is actually blood) spread on the entire main body of the fish. I have never seen it isolated to one specific area like that.

I know the fish swims very fast but hard to get a good look at what is going on in those images.

Above eye and forehead makes me think LLD but I can only make out a black spot near the tail of the fish.

What are you using to treat the ich with?
    What are you feeding?

4. Kevin3884

Kevin3884 Tassled File Fish

Looks like it could be a healing trauma area...notice any fighting? u have a fairly heavily stocked tank...

5. ingtar_shinowa

ingtar_shinowa Giant Squid