setting up a very basic tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by thegocools, Nov 8, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. thegocools

thegocools Plankton

Hello folks,
    This is my first post here. I have some experience keeping fresh water cichilds.I have a spare 4 feet x 1.5 feet x 1 feet aquarium. I dont know how many gallons that is. ( Can someone pls tell me that too). I wanted to know if i could set up a basic marine tank. I am not looking at a reef tank but just a few corals and a couple of live rocks with hardy basic fish would do for a start. I was intrested in having a couple of clownfish. The trouble is i dont know where to start. How much would it cost me. Do i need all the regular equipment for a basic tank? My LFS fellow says i need this filter that filter skimmers and a lot of other crap which is gonna make a big hole in my pocket. I already have the tank hood, stand, a power head for the filter, an air pump. What else do i need and how much is it gonna cost me. what are the fish i can keep in a basic tank? can i pop in a crab or a star fish into the tank. GOD HELP ME im gonna go crazzy with this stuff. Hoping to get some good advice as always.

2. Click Here!

3. Jason McKenzie

Jason McKenzie Super Moderator

Welcome Thegocools,

First I would recommend you read the 3 steps that are under the link at the top called "steps".

But let me give you the run down. Sound like you have a 55G tank.
    First I would look into the cost of 55lbs of Live Rock. This will be your biological filter
    Second Sand I would look into sugar sized arrogate
    There is a lot of info about Sand on this site
    Third I would look into a protein skimmer
    Fourth Lighting, Corals Demand a lot more light than fish. But some corals don't require the lighting others do. So I would look into what you want to keep and from there you will be able to invest in lights.
    Lights will be your major expense