Seahorse in Nano tank

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by flynhawaiianz28, Nov 29, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. flynhawaiianz28

flynhawaiianz28 Purple Spiny Lobster

So I have been debating the issue of whether or not to get a seahorse for my nano tank eventually. I have a feeling that I could probably keep one but I know it is not the easiest task. I have little knowledge of seahorses at the moment. The things I really know is that they obviously are not quick swimmers so it is best they are in an environment that they won't have to compete for food as well that they can not handle a lot of water movement as they can't swim through it very easily. Now with that being said I wanted to see if anyone is keeping any seahorses and how their experience is going? Also, anyone got any helpful websites for advice, know what kind of seahorse is best to keep in a nano tank, what they eat, etc. I always try to get as much info as possible so I can make an informed decision:)

2. Click Here!

3. elweshomayor

elweshomayor Giant Squid

Well I don't have experience with sea horses but I do know ( adding to what you already stated) that you are supposed to have the temperature of about 74 degrees. Only live foods. And many places for them to grab with their tails.

4. Gexx

Gexx Giant Squid

they need hitching posts
    low temp (74)
    also they can eat frozen mysis or brine shrimp. they need fed three times a day (2 minimum)
    30 gal minimum (havent completely confirmed this i think they would do fine in a 10-15)
    need pristine water quality
    no anemones or corals that can sting (euphyllia family and some others)
    no ther fish that can out compete it for food
    you should have some copepods so they can grave throughout the day
    you should try and get tank raised
    very low flow to none at all (besides surface agitation)
    less than 20ppm of nitrates 0 amonia and nitrites