Seabae Anemone or??

Discussion in 'ID This!' started by bluepill, Mar 16, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bluepill

bluepill Plankton

Hey guys. I am new to 3reef!

I just bought a anemone about 10 days ago. I have been trying to find what the name of it, but don't know. It seems like to be an Seabae. would you take a look for me please? it's got pale pink body and pale purple dots at the tip.

please see the following pictures

It started on the top of the rock and now it is hiding its butt under the rock.

I tried to feed it with brine and mysis shrimp.........and even chopped defrosted prawn that I eat. It doesn't seem to take any of it. The tips grab the shrimp but it doesn't put it into its mouth......any suggestion of how to solve this problem??

The clowns are new. just got them today! very excited now

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. PackLeader

PackLeader Giant Squid

It looks like it could be a sebae.
    That tank looks awful young, how long has it been up :confused: What kind of lighting do you have?
    If its not taking food, it's either stressing or just plain not hungry.

4. 10acrewoods

10acrewoods Fire Goby

5. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

you need to take that back...a seabae takes pristine water conditions and much more lighting than you have in your 8 gallon biocube (I think that is what you have...if your was the post I read)

What will happen is that it is going to die and will poison and kill everything in your tank.

Seabea is one of the hardest ones to keep IMO, require a ton of light and a much bigger and stable system then you have.

Again, I would recommend taking it back and getting some starter corals...polyps, zoos, mushrooms etc. (actually get store credit so you tank can handle the load that was recently added witht he clowns)